Homemade Styrofoam Basking Platform!!! :D

I decided to make a new basking spot for Bubbles and Squirt. I had some old styrofoam from a big food order thing, so I decided to use that (it was pretty thick, too so it turned out to be perfect for small-medium turtles, like Bubbles and Squirt but Goliath or Blacky would destroy this, I’m thinking).

Anyway, here are the pictures 🙂

2013-12-01 12.22.04

It’s not the most attractive things, but I love it…

2013-12-01 12.22.40

 

2013-12-01 12.22.58

…and I’m sure Bubbles…

2013-12-01 12.23.06

…and Squirt love the extra water for swimming!

2013-12-01 12.23.21

See how much water is in it, compared to Sandy’s tank (on the right)? It’s splendid! 😀 I even had to mount the filter on top of the 2 bricks that were beneath Bubbles’ bridge, because the water was a couple of inches over the top of it! Squirt looks so funny when she swims up for air; she paddles with her little webbed feet like a madman, er.. mad-woman. 😉 (To be honest, I don’t even know her/his gender at the moment, because she is too small to sex her accurately)

2013-12-01 17.41.24

“Is it safe to go up there?”

2013-12-01 17.41.50

“Aah you were right… Soakin’ in the ‘sun'” 🙂

2013-12-01 17.42.00

 

Squirt was the first to get up onto it, then came Bubbles the following day (today). I am debating on whether I should make one of these for all of my turtles.. 🙂 Of course, I would have to make heavier-duty ones than this one for my larger turtles.

Leave a Reply

