Happy Anniversary!!!!!

Exactly one year ago, I created this blog, Beneath the Water. At this time, I had only one turtle. This turtle, whom I have had since I was probably 5 years old, is Sandy. He always has been an amazing pet, and not to mention an amazing friend. 🙂 I couldn’t imagine living here without seeing him every day. The thought of it just makes me shiver…

I wasn’t expecting much from this blog but I love writing about anything I love. What I love, all herps, especially turtles. What are herps? Herps (herp-ers are “herpetologists” / the interest/study of herps is “herpetology”) are… Well here is the definition straight from Wikipedia:

Herpetology is the branch of zoology concerned with the study of amphibians (including frogstoadssalamandersnewts, and gymnophiona) and reptiles (including snakeslizardsamphisbaenidsturtlesterrapinstortoisescrocodilians, and the tuataras). Batrachology is a further subdiscipline of herpetology concerned with the study of amphibians alone.

Okay, so I didn’t understand all of that… I have never heard of gymnophiona, amphisbaenids, or tuataras are. But you get the idea! 😉 For me, herps are considered turtles, snakes, and lizards (I include terrapins and tortoises in turtles). Of course, that doesn’t make all the other ones non-herps, they are just the ones I am interested in the most. Well, I do feed my two snakes frogs and toads. Also, I have caught salamanders and kept them as pets before (which is illegal!! I was not aware of the laws at this time, so do not keep any salamanders you find. There are also very fragile, and I know this from experience: Every one of them died within two weeks. 😦 I am not proud of my actions, but I will never keep another salamander ever).

Anyways, I thought I would share some pictures of my first turtle friend, Sandy: 🙂

Don’t miss my new video of Sandy being CHASED by my two cats, Boots (big one), and Nina (small one), and my dog, Star! Click here.

HNI_0014 HNI_0015 HNI_0011 HNI_0012 HNI_0008 HNI_0007 HNI_0010 HNI_0017

 

* I actually posted this at 11:44 pm on the day of Beneath the Water’s anniversary. Our anniversary is June 30 (created on June 30, 2012).

2 responses to “Happy Anniversary!!!!!

Leave a Reply

